Bikes and Motorized Transport


Do bikes and motorized transport mix?

There have been numerous efforts, here and abroad to find ways to have the two types of transports have the best of both worlds. Bike lanes have been laid down in streets, segregated or exclusive bike ways have been constructed but there seems to be no simple solution.

More often than not, bikers are forced to chart their own ways on the streets. They have to be adept in weaving in and out of crowded lanes and shoot between cars to go ahead. While they have these advantage in a traffic situation, they are easily left behind in the long run.

I have been on my daily bike-to-work routine for a year now and if only I had a camera each time I ride, this blog would be filled with pictures depicting human nature, from the noble to the base, from the heroic to the cowardice of a driver cutting in front of a biker so he could get ahead.

These are just for starters.


p1010026_small.jpg

Notice the taxi and another vehicle facing each other in the middle of the street. Who is at fault here? The cyclist?

 


 

pedicab.jpg

A very common sight: an overloaded pedicab. It’s capacity: always one more pack!


 

 

p1010028.jpg

Guess what the cyclists will do? How should they navigate this blockade? Isn’t it more like being between Scylla and Charybdis?

2 responses to “Bikes and Motorized Transport

  1. I live in Diliman, QC and when I used to work for an electric utility at Pasig, I would ride my bike to work. We had a gym and shower so it was great. Nowadays, I work in Mandaluyong, but our building doesn’t have any facilities where I can change into my work attire. If there was someplace where I could freshen up, then that would mean one more person not having to commute to work. 🙂

  2. Heya i’m for the first time here. I came across this board and I find It truly useful & it helped me out much. I am hoping to present something again and help others such as you aided me.

Leave a Reply

