What Do You Want to Save? – Greenpeace


GREENPEACE International

Dear friend,

I was one of the “Red Carpet Four” activists who gatecrashed the Heads of State dinner at the UN Climate Summit in Copenhagen last December. Although there were only four of us we were standing alongside the 15 million of you who called for a fair, ambitious and binding climate treaty.

I gave up my freedom in Copenhagen to keep up the pressure on world leaders – my fellow activists and I spent 20 days in jail over Christmas and New Year without trial – and now I’m asking for your help.

The meeting in Copenhagen failed to produce a binding climate deal. But all countries acknowledged the need to keep global temperatures from rising above 2°C and were asked to come up with strong emissions targets to meet that need before January 31st.

That deadline has passed but the targets countries have put forward still set us on the path to catastrophic runaway climate change. Current targets will result in a 3°C rise or more – the consequences of which would be disastrous for the planet and humanity.

All of our joint efforts to save the climate do not need to be in vain – but we must keep the pressure on world leaders. We must continue to tell them that their response to climate change has not been strong enough.

I am asking you to show them why you take action on climate change. I do it because I want to safeguard my children’s future – what do you want to save?

I look forward to seeing what inspires you to take action. We’ll be displaying images of what you want to save on our website and also use some of them at key events over the coming months.

Thank you for your continuing support,

Nora Christiansen
Greenpeace Activist

Leave a Reply

