Bike Quotes VI


Share the road sign, New York City.

Image via Wikipedia

I found this in  WORLD CARFREE NEWS  Edition 80 – November 2010 –

I can’t support bike lanes. How many people are riding outside today?
We don’t live in Florida. We don’t have 12 months a year to ride on
our bikes. And what I compare bike lanes to is swimming with the
sharks, sooner or later you are going to get bitten. And every year we
have dozens of people that get hit by cars or trucks. Well, no wonder!
Roads are built for buses cars and trucks, not for people on bikes. My
heart bleeds for them when someone gets killed, but it is their own
fault at the end of the day.”

– Rob Ford, newly elected mayor of Toronto, speaking to City Council in 2007″

3 responses to “Bike Quotes VI

  1. Found you from the Dona Nobis Pacem. I love your site. I’m going to poke around a little bit, but don’t worry I’ll put everything back where I found it!!

  2. Hi Jovan,
    Sorry, I have no further information on this matter. The newsletter didn’t have any other report about the cyclists’ reactions.

Leave a Reply

