Bike Quotes XI – Christiane Amanpour


English: The Midtown Greenway bicycle trail, i...

Image via Wikipedia

But 17 years ago, I arrived at CNN with a suitcase, with my bicycle, and with about 100 dollars. Indeed I came from one of the best local stations who took me in right after college and sort of had pity on me and gave me a job. And they encouraged me to try CNN because they knew somebody who worked there. And basically said, “You know, this is a great opportunity for somebody like yourself who’s foreign, who has a foreign accent. We hear foreign accents on CNN. It’s crazy, it’s wild, who knows, maybe they’ll take you because you certainly don’t fit in, in the American spectrum of news.

Christiane Amanpour

British Journalist

Keynote Speech at the Edward R. Murrow Awards Ceremony, Minneapolis: September 13, 2000

Leave a Reply

